Book News: August 18, 2017

Check out this week’s happenings!

We have more news about the upcoming A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy and the final Throne of Glass novel!

Thrilled to announce this!! Today's newsletter will have more details (out in a few hours!), but here are some tidbits: It’s a novella set after the events of ACOWAR, that bridges the gap between the original trilogy and the upcoming spinoff books, and lays a bunch of the groundwork for the set-up of the new novels. All of the old gang is back….and it’s narrated by Feyre and Rhys! 😊 Some of you might notice that this means the publication dates for this novella and the last ToG book have been swapped–which is true. The final ToG book will now be coming out in Fall 2018, and without going too much into it, one of the big reasons for this change is that my dad had a massive heart attack at the beginning of July. He's doing okay now, and is finally back home (after a month at the hospital), but he's just starting what will be a long road to recovery. I'm working as hard as I can on these books (I'm actually spending the next few weeks in Maine trying to catch up on some of them), and I'm hopeful that my dad will continue to make remarkable progress every day. I adore you all so much, and I hope you guys are having a fantastic summer. Can't wait to share this novella with you in May! 💖💖💖 #ACOTAR #throneofglass #acowar #feyre #rhysand

A post shared by Sarah J. Maas (@therealsjmaas) on

It sounds like a novella will be published next May linking the original ACOTAR trilogy to the new one, and it’ll be from Feyre and Rhys’ perspective. I’m excited about the new trilogy, but I felt like it gave Maas an excuse not to properly wrap up all of the loose threads in ACOWAR. There was just too much groundwork laid for the new trilogy for the focus to stay on Fayre and Rhys’ storyline, and the book suffered for it. But I’m very happy we’re not yet done with this world!

I’m also disappointed to hear that ToG7 has been pushed back again, but of course, life happens and Maas’ family should absolutely come first. I’m glad to hear her father is doing better and wish her and her family the best with his recovery.

I wish the Chaol novella hadn’t turned into ToG6 because then the series would be wrapping up next month, but that’s a rant for another day. It is what it is, and I’m very excited about Maas’ upcoming books! And really, she should take all the time she needs to make sure they’re perfect. It’s not like I don’t have a massive tbr pile to work on in the meantime.

#####

We have the cover and release date for the third Ember in the Ashes book!

🔥🔥🔥I’ve always been honest with you guys. My true, weird self. So I’m going to be honest now. I was so excited about these cover reveals. But. 🔥🔥🔥Charlottesville happened & I sat like so many of us, disgusted and enraged as Nazis marched. As they murdered people. 🔥🔥🔥 I’d love to ignore it. I can’t afford to. I’m brown. If neo-Nazis become normalized, what happens to my children? Family? Friends? I can’t stop thinking about it. So I’m not going to pretend, ok? Forgive me. I absolutely adore these covers, but I can’t just say “whee, lookie!” I’m too heartsick. 🔥🔥🔥 I gotta keep writing. Keep fighting. I don’t know what else to say. Gonna follow my mama’s advice & speak my heart. Here goes: 🔥🔥🔥 For the beautiful brown kids who deserve to see themselves on books: You’re heroes too. And these covers are for you. 🔥🔥🔥 Link to the reveal is in my bio. You’ll find the summary and pub date there.  #EmberQuartet #AnEmberInTheAshes #ATorchAgainstTheNight #AReaperAtTheGates

A post shared by Sabaa Tahir (@sabaatahir) on

A Reaper at the Gates will be published on April 10, 2018. I have to admit I’m really disappointed to see a mid-series cover change, especially since I liked the original covers and I don’t care for the new ones. I’ve just always hated covers with people on them. But after reading this interview with Tahir, it’s hard to be upset about something that’s clearly so important. She’s absolutely right that people of color aren’t featured enough on book covers, and I’m glad to see her books help change that.

#####

I saw this on Twitter: it sounds like V.E. Schwab’s Russian publisher redacted the Rhy/Alucard storyline from her Shades of Magic trilogy.  The Guardian did a good recap of it, which you can read here.

#####

The winners of this year’s Hugo Awards have been announced! AKA more books I need to add to my Goodreads tbr.

#####

Renee Ahdieh has announced that the sequel to Flame in the Mist will be titled Smoke in the Sun and has a May 1, 2018, release date.

I haven’t read Flame in the Mist and I’m a bit hesitant to pick it up after hearing not-so-great reviews. But Flame in the Mist has such a gorgeous cover, it might just be a cover read.

Preorder Deets:

So I have information on some preorder offers for books coming out this fall! You might have already seen it, but Sarah J. Maas posted on Instagram this month that there will be several special editions of Tower of Dawn:

Gorgeous finished copies of the special editions of Tower of Dawn just landed on my doorstep!!! 😍😍😍 Can't believe I'm finally holding this book in my hands (don't let its size deceive you: this baby clocks in at 660 pages)! Thanks so, so much to the amazingly talented artists who so graciously let us feature their work!! From top left: Nesryn and Chaol by @taratjah in the Target edition (the back pages of this book feature pieces by @merwildandco and @charliebowater); the @barnesandnoble edition that features some sample pages from my notebook while writing ToD (not featured here bc of spoilers!); and the beautiful poster of ToG characters by @merwildandco, which will be available at @chaptersindigo and in Australia & New Zealand! Only one month left until ToD is out in the world!! #towerofdawn #chaolwestfall #yrenetowers #nesrynfaliq #throneofglass

A post shared by Sarah J. Maas (@therealsjmaas) on

I personally went with the Barnes & Noble edition, and then made sure to submit my preorder info here to get this Throne of Glass pouch:

I also saw that Epic Reads is doing a special preorder offer for The Dazzling Heights. You can check out more details here. I haven’t personally read the first book, The Thousandth Floor, but I kind of want to just so I can get the super cute makeup bag…

And for fans of Vengeance Road, Erin Bowman is running a preorder offer on the sequel, Retribution Rails, due out on Nov. 7. I’m not a big western fan, so I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Vengeance Road and am excited for the sequel. Submit your preorder info here to get all of the neat swag pictured below while supplies last and be entered for a grand prize offer. This giveaway is international!

And last but not least, Leigh Bardugo has preorder offers out for both of her books being published this fall. She announced this a while ago, but those interested in Wonder Woman: Warbringer can submit their preorder info here to get this poster:

And Bardugo just announced this week that they’ll be running a preorder offer for The Language of Thorns as well! Submit your preorder info here to get this cute enamel pin and be entered for a chance to win a grand prize box:

Extras:

Book Riot posted this great list recommending historical romances to new readers. I’m one of the people they mentioned who started reading romance at a really young age, but it’s only recently that I’ve learned how hard it can be to break into the genre without years of romance-reading experience. So if anyone wants to know where to start, this is this list I plan to point you to! I can personally vouch for the Julia Quinn and Lisa Kleypas books and definitely plan to check out the other ones on this list myself.

Tasha at Cats and Paperbacks wrote an interesting post last month asking “Does YA Hate F/F Romance?” I’ve personally noticed that there’s a bias towards m/m relationships in both YA and genre romance, and Tasha pulls some interesting data to support that. I’m looking forward to reading some of her f/f recommendations!

I also happened across a Huffington Post article titled “How the Heroine of ‘Ella Enchanted’ (Accidentally) Became a Feminist Icon.” This book was one of my absolute favorites as a kid. I probably read it 20-plus times and it’s great to see that it’s still getting recognition.

#####

That’s it for this week’s book news. Be sure to follow me on Twitter for the most up-to-date happenings! And let me know in the comments what you thought of this week’s news.

One thought on “Book News: August 18, 2017

  1. Pingback: Book News: September 29, 2017 | Dani's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s